On Dolls & Darkness

Dark Barbie 1782105_703477673037933_1739246867_n

Michonne Barbie! Super Cool!

I must admit that when my mother bought me baby dolls when I was younger she got me the white dolls with brown hair…because she figured that is what my babies would look like. Maybe a slight bit of color consciousness there.

My real babies are rainbow! They range the spectrum. lol!

But the real truth of how I have grown to understand and appreciate Blackness is that all Black children regardless of their complexion need to be comfortable with the darkest of dark skins…why? Because the world doesn’t embrace darkness…and who should be the strongest supporters of being Black…none other than us lighter skinned tribes.

In fact…I will go a step further to say…in this day and age…all peoples should be buying their children black dolls, blue dolls, green dolls. It really doesn’t matter.

I think embracing and being comfortable with our variety of colors is important in making a One World Connection.

Your thoughts?

A post by Skai Juice  on 25 .02.2014

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Fodder for Thought and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Dolls & Darkness

Leave a Reply

