Janelle Monàe: “When I started my musical career I was a maid…”

During her acceptance speech at BLACK GIRLS ROCK! 2012 Monáe spoke candidly about her family and said she wears her uniform in honor of them.

ABC Television Network Presents A Screening Of "A Raisin In The Sun"

“When I started my musical career I was a maid, I used to clean houses. My parents—my mother was a proud janitor, my step-father who raised me like his very own worked at the post office and my father was a trash man. They all wore uniforms. And that’s why I stand here today in my black and white and I wear my uniform to honor them,” Monáe said, fighting back tears.

“This is a reminder that I have work to do, I have people to uplift, I have people to inspire,” she said after explaining that she grew up in Wyandotte County, “the poorest county” in Kansas City.

“And today I wear my uniform proudly as a Covergirl,” she told the audience reffering to her deal with the cosmetics giant.

Monáe then went on to deliver a message directed to her young fans but one that could resonate with fans of all ages and gender.

“I want to be clear young girls, I didn’t have to change who I was to become a Covergirl, I didn’t have to become perfect because I’ve learned through my journey that perfection is the often the enemy of greatness. Embrace what makes you unique, even if it makes other uncomfortable.

That last quote was a good one to end a story with but because tomorrow is election day, you should know that Barack Obama is a fan of Monáe.

Extract from http://colorlines.com/archives/2012/11/janelle_monae_talks_about_being_a_former_maid_and_why_she_still_wears_a_uniform.html

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Brookline, Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Women Sharing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Janelle Monàe: “When I started my musical career I was a maid…”

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    if only more young women thought like this

  2. Pingback: Food for thought. |

Leave a Reply

