On Parents, Kids & Money

Following extract taken from the Bill Cosby Show (1984)

Dad:
We love you.  We let you borrow money even though you’re not qualified to pay it back. You get out in the real world, it’s going to be different.

Son:
But, when I get in the real world, I’ll do just fine ‘cause I’m going to have a lot of money.

Dad:
I hope you’re not waiting for me to die!

===

Mom:
Oh, we MADE you get the braces?

Daughter:
Yeah.

Dad:
Getting braces for you was not a form of punishment. If we hadn’t, your mother and I would now have a bigger house. And you would have teeth growing out your ears!

===

Son:
One of our professors is putting together an archeological dig in Egypt this summer and I would really like your permission to go.

Dad:
Of course, go ahead.

Son:
I need $1,500.

Dad:
Well, I think you better get a spoon and go out in the back yard son.

You know, $1,500 is a lot of money to give to somebody who’s just making a C.

Son:
I cannot help it if we just happen to be so rich that I can’t get a grant.

Dad:
Your mother and I graduated from college… and we went on to graduate school… and graduated. We are rich; you have nothing.

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Fodder for Thought, Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

