OMG: A Versatile Blogger Award for Me!

This fabulous photo came to me from the coffers of a Pirate named RoughWaterJohn, as did the Versatile Blogger award (VBA) he recently bestowed upon me and my blog. Both left me speechless.

Readers may think that the photo has nothing to do with receiving such an award. Forgive me but, within the intimate virtual village that a few of us bloggers have created, the eagle does have a special significance. As such, it is fitting that I associate this photo with my VBA.

Receiving such an honor touched me so much that I’ve had difficulty in accomplishing the three requirements associated with accepting such an honor.  Well, after much procrastination, I rise to the challenge. So here goes.

The Versatile Blogger award’s three requirements are:
1. Thank the person who gave you the reward.
2. List seven random facts about yourself.
3. Nominate fifteen new bloggers for the award.

 

Though I have procrastinated when it comes to writing about me, I lost no time in thanking RoughWaterJohn for bestowing the VBA upon me. If proof be needed, I give you an extract of his reply:

“Well, aren’t you just an emotional girl. :-) You are sincerely welcome, and I am very happy that you share your emotions (and thoughts) with us…”

So, with requirement #1 safely satisfied, I move onto #2, listing seven random facts about myself.

This was hard for me to do, because every time I jotted down one, I ended up writing mounds of text. While I’m thankful that they gave me fodder for writing, the writing didn’t help me in getting my list done. So now, I’m going to attempt to do what RoughWaterJohn says he does from time to time: type up this post and hit the post key.

Seven things about myself:

A)  My favorite cheese is Roquefort. And I, with my American roots, eat it “correctly”. That is, on a baguette (bread), with butter and accompanied by a great red wine.  Ironically, I have taken on more than one of my French acquaintances in defending that this cheese is NOT made with cow’s milk. Let me make this perfectly clear: Roquefort’s made with sheep’s milk.

B)  When I am sure beyond a doubt of a fact, like Roquefort cheese being made with sheep’s milk,…I can be more than a bit stubborn in stating that fact.

C)  Though what I wrote above is true, it is also true that it’s not a question of being right all the time. I do not mind being wrong. I actually like for folks to correct me i.e. rather be corrected than to go around spurting out absurdities :-D.

D)  When I speak, my voice is low. But the voice I sing in is mezzo-soprano, at least in foreign languages: French, Latin, Italian, Polish, Russian, Hebrew…that is, in whatever language the choir leaders teach me to sing.

E)  Several years ago, I spoke to and shook hands with the Dalai Lama Tenzin Gyatso. He wanted to know my name and from whence I come. After, the Tibetans wanted to know who I was in another life. I’d also like to know :-D.

F)  Whenever I think about shaking hands with the Dalai Lama, the center of my right hand warms up.

Okay, requirement #2’s out of the way, on to #3.

Like RoughWaterJohn, I too will have difficulty in nominating fifteen blogs. I’m only about two and a half month’s into blogging. As such, I don’t have a wealth of tried and tested blog addresses to pass on, not even 15. However, I am a Pirate-in-training. And one thing I do know about pirates is this: they do not live by rules as they take rules to be more like guidelines.

Reading that I am required to nominate blogs that I appreciate, I shall. And, being confronted with the fact that three of my favorite blogs have ALREADY been nominated, I gratefully don my pirate’s garb to include MY favorite blogs regardless of their previous nominations.

So, here are my nominees for the Versatile Blogger’s award:

1.  RoughWater John The Pirate
Random musings, obscure observations and strange viewpoints.

2.  Jo Bryant’s Chronicles of Illusions
Enter a parallel universe. Take respite from real life…open doors into… alternate reality…

3.  Gary’s Life Adventures
A Trip Down Memory Lane

Now, the above three have, as I’ve written, been already nominated. I figure with my listing them again they can either ignore my nomination or redo the criteria and take on a second VBA or perhaps claim the second VBA and just write idem. The choice is strictly theirs.

4.  Mindfulbalance Blog
Supporting you in balancing inner & outer life, work & home, seriousness & play, time for others & time for self, activity & rest, holding on & letting go…..

5.  The Fun Theory
Dedicated to the thought that something as simple as fun is the easiest way to change people’s behaviour for the better.

6.  Blessings Enterprises Blog
Healing, Coaching & Life with a smile…

7.  TED Blog
Ideas worth spreading.

With requirement #3 now behind me, I end this post by thanking RoughWaterJohn for his nomination, for allowing me to meet some really wonderful folks through his blog, including the Pirate himself, and for generating a mass of fodder for thought for all who enter his and the various other interconnected blog realms.

Keep writing!

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Emanitawrites, Fodder for Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to OMG: A Versatile Blogger Award for Me!

  1. Sara says:

    That Golden Eagle suits you. Very well done. That was some handshake, truely a blessing to last forever.

  2. Gary says:

    Awesome Emanita!

    To Soar With Eagles…I think this image is a perfect fit!

    Congratulations on your Versatile Blogger Award!

  3. A blog well worthy of such an auspicious award my friend. Congratulations, and a wonderful acceptance post my friend. Looking forward to spending time with your nominees also!

    • emanita01 says:

      Hey, John, thanks I really am touched, no honored, that you appreciate my blog.
      Your considering my acceptance post as wonderful also is treasured. I had a real hard time putting fingers to keyboard with this one;

      Hope you’ll enjoy the blogs I’ve nominated.

      Be readin’ yours as always, thanks for dropping by ;-D

    • emanita01 says:

      You do realize of course that you already DO spend time, LOTS of time…LOL,
      with one of my top three nominees? Ok, Cap’n, jus for a sec’…leggo o’ dat der pirate an’ ‘av a look ‘ere in dis mirror 😀 Dar ‘e is darlin’ nominee #1 starin’ ye in yer face 😀

  4. emanita01 says:

    Tee, hee… I included a hook in my post. But since two eagles soared by and didn’t pick up on it, I share my hook here.

    I wrote: “I actually like for folks correct me i.e. rather be corrected than to go around spurting out absurdities :-D.”

    There’s a “to ” missing between folks & correct! Was wondering if, or maybe hoping that, someone would correct me and point that out.
    Oh well… not to worry, they’ll be other opportunities. Look for them! LOL.

  5. Jo Bryant says:

    So many interesting and fun things this awards teaches us about each other. 🙂

    Thank you for including me amongst your recipients.

    Please don’t think that I meant to exclude you when I sent out mine – but I thought that you needed to pass it onto those who had not yet acquired it.

    I may have to think awhile on who else to nominate…

    But I do have a list of more than 7 things coming up in the future. Maybe I shall use that as a deadline – and include all who I missed the first time.

    🙂

  6. emanita01 says:

    Hi! Quite true and you are entirely welcome. Not to worry as to your including me or not. i KNOW you like my blog and that we’re connected. As to duplicate awards…I have this thing about MY giving credit where I feel credit is due, so even if RWJ nominated you, I HADN’T!! (Sorry, Cap’n…LOL)
    And so, now I have (tra, la, la, la la lare rah!)

    You well deserve the award, my friend.
    Thanks for sharing, caring and above all, thanks for writing 😀

  7. Hello! Thanks for your nomination and I love your blog as well!
    It’s so fun that we can all connect in this way.
    Blessings on your blog and projects!
    I’ll be posting a reply on the Blessings Blog http://blessingsenterprises.wordpress.com and on the spirituality blog, which you can find here http://spiritualityofgrief.wordpress.com

    Thanks again for such a fun nomination!
    peace and blessings,
    Terri 🙂

Leave a Reply

