Who Says Men Can’t be Feminists?

An extract from:

Why I Am a Male Feminist

By: Byron Hurt
Posted: March 16, 2011 at 12:24 AM

The word turns off a lot of men (insert snarky comment about man-hating feminazis here) — and women. But here’s why black men should be embracing the “f” word.

When I was a little boy, my mother and father used to argue a lot. Some mornings, I would wake up to the alarming sound of my parents arguing loudly. The disagreement would continue until my father would yell with finality, “That is it! I’m not talking about this anymore!” The dispute would end right there. My mother never got the last word.

My dad’s yelling made me shrink in fear; I wanted to do something to make him stop raging against my mother. In those moments, I felt powerless because I was too small to confront my father. I learned early that he had an unfair advantage because of his gender. His size, strength and power intimidated my mother. I never saw my father hit her, but I did witness how injurious his verbal jabs could be when they landed on my mom’s psyche.

My father didn’t always mistreat my mother, but when he did, I identified with her pain, not his bullying. When he hurt her, he hurt me, too. My mother and I had a special bond. She was funny, smart, loving and beautiful. She was a great listener who made me feel special and important.

And whenever the going got tough, she was my rock and my foundation.

Click to read the complete article.

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Brookline, Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in A Masculine Point of View, Fodder for Thought, On Mothers/Mothering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who Says Men Can’t be Feminists?

  1. Gary says:

    I read the article by Byron Hurt, reading it word for word.
    It gave me great pleasure to see him discover, to understand and eventually nurture his embrace of the feminist movement.
    His writing on the subject makes me appreciate the beauty of my own relationship with my wonderful wife. She has her masters degree in psychology and is a licensed MFT (marriage-family-therapist.) I proclaim my deepest love for this woman, publicly and privately, with words and in actions. She is truly the better half of our marriage, and with every breath I take I feel blessed by this strong woman, who gently encourages me, loving me and making me feel fully masculine in every way.
    This woman deserves every cup of coffee or breakfast in bed I have brought, and ever will deliver to her bedside. She deserves my fullest attention (except when I’m driving nails or working with sharp objects) and she deserves absolute respect as I would expect for myself. Men; women are not to be ruled and abused in any way. Cherish and respect one, and watch love blossom!

  2. Gary says:

    Thank you so much for making me a part of your blog!
    I am absolutely amazed that anyone would take the time to frame my writing, and set it next to their own treasures.

  3. emanita01 says:

    Gary, you are most welcome ;-D
    As you consider my work as treasures, we are in each other’s treasurable company.

    Now, if you don’t mind another NUDGE, you’ve got DIRECT posting to do my friend.
    So, hop, hop, off you go 🙂

Leave a Reply

