Lanterne Time and Beyond

Decided to try my hand at writing a new lanterne poem, and came up with:

writing

essential             troubling

harnesses fleeting thoughts

capturing authenticity on paper:

creativity

©March 2011_M. Anita Bailey

Then, I came across the following instructions:

“Lanterne is a five line poem where the first line has one syllable, the second line two syllables, the third line three syllables, the fourth line four syllables and the fifth line one syllable. Each line able to stand on its own with or without a title that sometimes forms an integral part as a ‘sixth’ line.”

Since the first one didn’t abide, I promptly modified:

 

write

needed

authentic

essential

words down on paper

©March 2011_M. Anita Bailey

Then with a sense of mischievousness, I did this:

 

writing

essential             troubling

harnesses fleeting thoughts

capturing authenticity on paper:

creativity

 

write

needed

authentic

essential

words down on paper

©March 2011_M. Anita Bailey

And lo and behold, what I’ve just written is no longer identified!

PS: But I DO like that its shape = old-fashioned bubblegum dispenser 🙂

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Emanitawrites, Fodder for Thought, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lanterne Time and Beyond

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    I like the bubble dispenser… cool 🙂

  2. emanita01 says:

    Emailed comment:

    Chère Em.,

    Merci beaucoup for this. First of all, because I was totally unaware of this new form of poetry and its rules. Brevity for poetry is somehow one of my personal rules. If it’s long, in my book, it has somehow missed the whole point. I don’t know WHERE that notion arose and am sure it has no basis except in my strong ( tho’ idiosyncratic) preferences !

    The whole idea of yr experimentation and word play around this poem is enticing, showing how a poet is also subject to process in her work. And not just subject. The unfolding of the process actually helps to pin down where we want to go !

    I love when that happens both in creative and other writing in fact.

    The theme that entices me? Twofold: the notion of capturing authenticity on paper, and the idea of the NEED to do so.

    For a brief experimental poem you have totally made my day.
    If I had my poem–a-day calendar, yours would be the perfect entry for today !

    Isn’t it also interest the widely differing effect of using the ( heavy’ish) gerunds and then using a VERB like need. It never ceases to amaze me how certain simple words help us to INCREASE the power of our core idea.

    xxOO B.

    • emanita01 says:

      It’s a real pleasure to read how my experimental poem affected my friend. And what’s more, I’m sure she’ll be off experimenting as soon as she gets the chance!

      Thanks B. ;-D

  3. Pingback: Lanterne Time and Beyond | Fodder4Writing

Leave a Reply

