Mothers’Influences: Daily Acts of Care and Creativity

The activists I interviewed had nothing in common, literally, except for one thing: they all cited their mothers as their most looming and important activist influences.

So often, particularly at a young age, we look a far afield for our models of the meaningful life. And, sometimes, they’re in our own kitchens talking on the phone, making us dinner, doing all that keeps the world going around and around.

My mom and so many women like her have taught me that life is not about glory or certainty or security even.

It’s about:
Embracing the paradox
Acting in the face of overwhelm
Loving people really well

And, at the end of the day, these things make for a lifetime of challenge and reward.

— Courtney Martin

Edited extract from TEDWomen interview filmed 12/2010.

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a Social Entrepreneur in the making, a Gospel singer, Actrice, Stand-up Comic & member of an Improvisational Theater troupe. I am also gravitating towards writing a book or two, a couple of plays and a one-woman show.
This entry was posted in Fodder for Thought, On Mothers/Mothering, Women & Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment