Stepping Beyond Three Words

I’m a Mother *
While I no longer follow my name with:
I’m So and So’s mother, and
as time goes on
I’ll respond to the question of
what do you do,
with: “I’m a writer.”
Still I’ll hear those three [little] words:
I’m
a mother.

A “found” poem* extracted and edited from an article written by Jo Bryant

Hmm, I fancy I see a tree formed by these verses. Do you?

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Brookline, Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Emanitawrites, On Mothers/Mothering, Poetry, Women & Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stepping Beyond Three Words

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    Love what you have done with this…

  2. emanita01 says:

    I am so glad you like it Jo ;-D
    But please note, I only sculpted YOUR energy my friend!

    • Jo Bryant says:

      Ahhh…but you sculpt so well !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      A friend of mine – also an amazing poet, once did something similar and I found it fascinating, but have never had the nerve to try it myself – may well do that now. I think you should enter this (damn why didn’t I think of it…LOL) in a competition.

  3. emanita01 says:

    Thanks Jo, for your encouragement and your permission to submit our found poem ;-D

    Keep me up to date when
    (notice I DID NOT write “if” here ;-D ) you try your hand at it!

    And thanks bunches for your tips on where to submit.

  4. Pingback: Stepping Beyond Three Words | Fodder4Writing

Leave a Reply

